OB visit and Anatomy Scan

It’s been a while since I’ve blogged, and that’s because there wasn’t much going on. Well now that’s changed. Last week IM came over for our consult with the OB. Where I live, OB’s don’t do primary care for pregnancies. You get referred to them if you have complications. My doctor has been very clear from the outset that she does not consider this to be a high risk pregnancy, although she does understand why my IPs are worried. I can’t get into details, but suffice to say that there is a lot of history.  My doctor referred us to the OB, but told me that she didn’t expect him to keep following us. It turned out that the OB appointment went great. He was very understanding, and will do anything he can to keep my IPs comfortable. So we will have an ultrasound every 4 weeks for the remainder of the pregnancy, and then a visit with the OB to discuss the results. I will be monitored closely, and I will likely be induced at 38 weeks, because of the IPs history, and the fact that this baby is their genetic material, so even though I am housing the baby for the next few months, the genetics are still in play. So that’s that, and IM and I both left that appointment feeling pleased that it had gone so well. 

Fast forward a bit. Yesterday we had our 19 week anatomy ultrasound. Here is sweet Emby’s profile picture!

  
Emby is measuring right on track. They did find a small cyst, but the doctor assures us that it’s a very common finding, and that Emby is okay. But if course, it’s still a scary thing to hear, and positive thoughts are appreciated.

We did not find out baby’s gender, the IPs have not decided if the want to know or not. So for now we are on team yellow. I’ll leave you with a couple more cute ultrasound pics.

  Baby face 🙂
  Feet
  Hands.
Please keep us in your thoughts. ❤️

The Baker

Leave a comment